Meet the Pacifica Quartet
Meet the Pacifica Quartet

String Works Series I

Meet the Music

Santa Fe Pro Musica presents the first concert of their String Works Series on Sunday, January 12 in St. Francis Auditorium, featuring the award-winning Pacifica String Quartet performing master works by Shostakovich and Beethoven, and a new piece by Israeli-American composer Shulamit Ran.

Dimitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) completed his Quartet No. 7 in 1960, and dedicated it to his young wife Nina, who had died unexpectedly. This is a work of complex emotions, from impish humor (some scholars suggest this portrays Nina) to anguish and anger, and from soothing sleep to nightmares. Shostakovich takes us through this surreal journey, ending gently with bittersweet feelings.

Listen to the haunting slow section (Lento) from Shostakovich’s Quartet No. 7 (2:19).


Pulitzer Prize winning composer Shulamit Ran (b. 1949) wrote her Quartet No. 3, “Glitter, Doom, Shards, Memory”(2014) for the Pacifica String Quartet. It is a tribute to the lives of artists impacted by the Holocaust and the triumph of the human spirit through art.

Beethoven’s Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 130, with the Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 is a journey through myriad dazzling scenes, from epic to mischievous, including an elegant ländler or waltz (Alla danza tedesca), a sublime cavatina, and culminating in one of the most astonishing fugues, “the chaos out of which life itself evolved” (Arnold Steinhardt, Guarneri String Quartet).

Listen to the 4th movement (Alla danza tedesca) from Beethoven’s Quartet, Op. 130. (3:50)

For more information about the quartet, please visit their website.


505.988.4640 |

String Works Series I

Pacifica String Quartet Events

FREE Open Rehearsal

Sunday, January 12 at 10 AM

Public Concert (tickets required)

Sunday, January 12 at 3 PM


Both events at St. Francis Auditorium at the New Mexico Museum of Art

107 W. Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM


SHOSTAKOVICH Quartet No. 7 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 108

SHULAMIT RAN Quartet No. 3, “Glitter, Doom, Shards, Memory”

BEETHOVEN Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 130, with the Grosse Fuge, Op. 133


After the concert, join us and members of the Pacifica String Quartet at one of our signature Artist Dinners, featuring a delicious 3-course dinner with fine wines. $95 per person ($40 tax-deductible), reservations required through the Pro Musica Box Office, 505-988-4640.

505.988.4640 |



Look for our next newsletter to learn about our upcoming Orchestra Series IV concerts titled “Journeys.”

Subscriptions and discounts available exclusively through the Pro Musica Box Office.

Tickets range from $20-$100.

Pro Musica Box Office

505.988.4640 |


Lensic Community Box Office

505.988.1234 |



… Join the Pro Musica mailing list